Know-How

Fermentation: the alchemical art of waiting

« Then wine undergoes two fermentations. The first one is called alcoholic fermentation and turns the grape juice into still wine (thanks to the conversion of sugar into alcohol and carbon dioxide by yeast).

Read more

As « little things often make a big difference », a second one – called malolactic fermentation - converts malic acid into lactic acid. I allow each of my wines excepting the Cuvée “Rosé de Macération » to undergo malolactic fermentation. It tends to create a rounder and fuller mouthfeel.

Read more

However our Cuvée Rosé does not go through a malolactic fermentation to preserve its vivacity. This wine requires a complex wine making process. Elaborated with the utmost care in a dedicated tank of red wine, this method requires a lot of time and patience.

Read more

Savoir-Faire

L'alchimie de la fermentation

« Deux fermentations vont alors se succéder. La première est la fermentation alcoolique. Par l'interaction des levures sur les sucres contenus naturellement dans le fruit, le moût se transforme en vin blanc tranquille.

Lire la suite

Et comme les petits détails font les grands Champagnes, nous laissons la seconde fermentation, dite malo-lactique, s’opérer sur toutes nos cuvées sauf sur notre Rosé de Macération. Cela permet aux vins encore souvent acerbes et durs à la dégustation de devenir plus souples, plus ronds et plus stables.

Lire la suite

Non pratiquée sur notre Cuvée Rosée pour en préserver toute sa vivacité, cette dernière requiert une technique d’élaboration complexe. Elaborée avec le plus grand soin, dans une cuve à vin rouge qui lui est entièrement dédiée, cette vinification requiert beaucoup de temps et de patience."

Lire la suite